The Block Island 350th Anniversary Committee hosted a variety of free tours and programs on Sunday, May 1.
•Take a Walking Tour of Old Harbor with volunteers from the Block Island Historical Society. Starting times: 10 am, 11 am, 2 pm
•Browse local history collections at the Island Free Library, 11 am-2 pm
•Discover the collections of the Block Island Historical Society at their museum in the former Woonsocket House (ca. 1871-73), 9:30 am-3:30 pm
•Meet the beasts at the Abrams Animal Farm, open all day.
•Tour North Light Fibers, a brand new mini-mill for woolens, located at Abrams Animal Farm. Tour times: 9 am, 10:30 am, 12 pm, 1:30 pm, 3 pm. Tour: 45 minutes-1 hour. Discussions include history of fiber and yarn work in Rhode Island, a key foundation of Rhode Island economic development. Visitors will see this working mill up and running.
South of town:
•Visit the Southeast Light (1873), 10 am-1 pm
North of town:
•Enjoy a Poetry Tour of the Hygeia House (1883), led by RI Poet Laureate and innkeeper Lisa Starr, 1:30 pm-3 pm.
Center of Island:
•A visit to historic Beacon Hill tower, the highest point on Block Island, to view historic guidebooks, building plans and other ephemera, and spy the shores of four states from the top of the hill. Groups limited to 10 are welcome to tour the house with owner, 10 am-4 pm. Sunset viewers are welcome; the house will not be open at that time.
•Bird banding at the Block Island Banding Station, Clay Head, with Master Bander and First Warden Kim Gaffett. Starting time 8:30 am. Limited to a maximum of 25. (In the event of rain, Kim Gaffett will instead conduct a tour of the impressive Block Island bird collection housed at the Block Island School, time to be announced.)
•Visit the North Light (1867), 1 pm-4 pm.