RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

Annual Preservation Awards, 1993-

Beginning in 1993, the Rhode Island Historical Preservation & Heritage Commission has presented annual State Historic Preservation Awards to honor individuals, organizations, and projects for their contributions to the preservation of Rhode Island's historic resources.

Four awards pay tribute to individuals who exemplify Rhode Islanders' commitment to historic preservation. They are the highest honors which the Commission bestows. The Antoinette F. Downing Award for Volunteer Service to Preservation honors Rhode Island's founding Commission Chairman. The Frederick C. Williamson Award for Professional Leadership in Preservation honors our long-term State Historic Preservation Officer. The John H. Chafee Award for Public Service in Preservation honors Rhode Island governor, United States Senator, and friend of historic preservation and the natural environment. The Stephen J. Tyson Sr. Artisan Award honors a master preservation carpenter who carefully restored hundreds of Rhode Island's historic landmarks.

Other awards salute achievements in education, stewardship, artisanry, planning, and preservation projects.

1993 | awards publication (pdf)
(AFD) Marion L. Fry, East Greenwich
(AFD) Carlton C. Brownell, Little Compton
(AFD) Margery I. Matthews, Foster
(FCW) Irving B. Haynes
(FCW) William H. Jordy
Brown Farm, South Kingstown
Burnside Memorial Hall, Bristol
Crescent Park Carousel, East Providence
East Greenwich Preservation Program
Kenyon's Department Store, South Kingstown
Preservation Society of Newport County, NewportProvidence Preservation Society Children's Education Program
Rose Island Lighthouse, Newport

1994 | awards publication (pdf)
(AFD) Ruth Lebeck, Smithfield
(FCW) Albert T. Klyberg, Lincoln
The Museum of Newport History at The Brick Market, Newport
Patrick G. Kirby II, Newport
Memorial and Library Association of Westerly
Witherbee School, Middletown
West End Preservation Apartments, Providence
The Army-Navy YMCA, Newport
Nicholas Brown, John Carter Brown, and Angela Brown Fischer
Elmwood Foundation for Architectural and Historical Preservation

1995 | awards publication (pdf)
(AFD) Isaac G. Smith, Jr., Westerly
(FCW) William D. Warner, FAIA, Providence
John Hunt House, East Providence
Preservation Society of Pawtucket Children's Education
Rhode Island School of Design, Providence
Robert E. Smith House and William Halton House, Providence
Southeast Lighthouse, Block Island
Winsor Blacksmith Shop, Foster

1996 | awards publication (pdf)
(AFD) Elizabeth Johnson, Pawtucket
(AFD) Helene Lee Tessler, Bristol
(FCW) B. Clarkson Schoettle, Providence
King's County Courthouse, Kingston
Kit Matteson Tavern, West Greenwich
Old Kent County Courthouse, East Greenwich
Providence Preservation Planning
Samuel B. Conant House, Central Falls
Shepard's Department Store, Providence
Slater Mill, Pawtucket

1997 | awards publication (pdf)
(AFD) Ruth Joslin, Scituate
(AFD) William D. Metz, South Kingstown
(FCW) Alan Leveillee and PAL, Pawtucket
Bridge Mill Power Station & Museum, Pawtucket
Candace Allen House, Providence
Ewa Orzechowska, Newport
St. Anthony House, Providence
Smith's Castle, North Kingstown
Warren Preservation Society, Warren

1998 | awards publication (pdf)
(AFD) Robert Merriam, East Greenwich
(FCW) Lombard John Pozzi, Bristol
Globe Village, Woonsocket
Historic Preservation Program and Center for Historic
Preservation Roger Williams University, Bristol
Kingston Railroad Station, South Kingstown
Ledge Point Cottage, Newport
Providence Art Club, Providence
Rhode Island State House Rotunda, Providence
The Redwood Library and Athenaeum, Newport
Valley Falls Heritage Park, Cumberland

1999 | awards publication (pdf)
(AFD) Ralph Emerson Carpenter, Jr., Newport
(FCW) Charles Jeffers Moore, Newport
Boyd's Gristmill, Middletown
Crompton Free Library, West Warwick
Fletcher Building, Providence
Mount Hope Farm, Bristol
Newport Fire Department
Rhode Island Marine Archaeology Project, D.K. Abbass
Washington Square Advisory Commission, Newport
West Broadway Neighborhood Association HQ, Providence
Westerly Railroad Station, Westerly

2000 | awards publication (pdf)
(AFD) Elizabeth Sargent Warren, Barrington
(FCW) John H. Chafee, Blackstone River Valley National Heritage Corridor Staff
Aquidneck Island Land Trust
Center General Complex (State Almshouse), Cranston
First Unitarian Church, Providence
Kaiser Mill Complex (National Rubber Company), Bristol
Museum of Work and Culture, Woonsocket
Neighbors Lane, Providence
Salve Regina University, Newport

2001 | awards publication (pdf)
(AFD) Tina C. Regan, Providence
(FCW) William L. Kite, Jr., Providence
Archaeological Excavation and Interpretation of the Holmes
Block, 1 State Street, Bristol
Crawford House Restoration, Warwick
Kelton-Davis and Luther-Fenner-Waterman Cemeteries, Johnston
Providence Parks Department for Roger Williams Park
Roberta Mudge Humble, Westerly
The Paul King Foundry, Johnston
The Providence Performing Arts Center
Wildacre, Newport

2002 | awards publication (pdf)
(AFD) Anne Utter, Westerly
(FCW) Stephen J. Tyson, Sr., Warwick
(JHC) Steven M. Costantino, Gordon D. Fox, Antonio J. Pires
RI Department of Environmental Management for South County Technical Planning Assistance Project
Hopkinton Historical Association for the Union Meeting House
Newport Historical Society for the Wanton-Lyman-Hazard House
Dunes Club Gatehouse, Narragansett
“The Elms” Garden, Newport
Great Road Transportation Enhancement Project, Lincoln
Harbor House, Newport
Stadium Theatre, Woonsocket

2003 | awards publication (pdf)
(AFD) George Sisson, Bristol
(FCW) Wilbur Yoder, East Greenwich
(JHC) Representatives Christine H. Callahan and Paul W. Crowley
Pettaquamscutt Historical Society
City of Providence for the Industrial and Commercial Buildings District
East Greenwich Municipal Land Trust for the Boesch Farm
Conanicut Battery, Jamestown
Fort Wetherill, Jamestown
Swiss Village Farm, Newport
Avery Pettis House, Provid ence
Corliss House, Providence
One Athenaeum Row, Providence

2004 awards | 2005 awards | 2006 awards | 2007 awards | 2008 awards | 2009 awards | 2010 awards | 2011 awards | 2012 awards | 2013 awards | 2014 awards | 2015 awards | 2016 awards | 2017 awards